GingerAndTea: Pro by day, grad student by night
Non-Smoker with Average body type
Champaign, Illinois
44 year old Female, 5' 10" (178cm), Presbyterian
Caucasian, Cancer
GingerAndTea is actively seeking a relationship.
Masters Degree
Web designer

I am Seeking a Woman For Long Term
Needs Test View her relationship needs Chemistry View her chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Does not want children
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Red Eye Color Green
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Under 1 year
Pets Cat Second Language Japanese

About Me
I'm a mild mannered web designer by day; my secret superhero identity is somewhere between "grad student," "fandom geek," "world traveler," and "costume designer."

I've never met an art or craft I didn't like. (I've only met one tea I didn't like. Lotus tea reminds me of the smell of kindergarten paste. Otherwise, tea is awesome. I may ramble a bit about the comparisons and contrasts between British and Japanese tea cultures.)

I speak 6 languages with varying levels of fluency, though it's been long enough since I was out of the country that some of them are starting to blur together. (Ever had a dream that was part French and part Japanese? Yeah, it was about as confusing as it sounds.) I'm an enthusiastically experimental fusion cook, I make pretty good soups, and I'm hoping to master the art of making great bread to go with them, but it's still a work in progress.

I'm working on a master's degree in information science, because the world has too much information for me to be able to learn all the things I want to know (as my overloaded bookshelves can attest). But if I know where to FIND the information, then it's all good! That might be why I'm having fun with the local historical reenactment societies -- so many time periods, so many countries, so much culture and food and clothing to learn about! (Yes, sometimes people wrap themselves in tin cans and bang on each other's heads too. I'm much more the arts and cultures type.)

I don't have much experience with relationships, but I'm looking for someone who would be a friend first, and maybe more later. My philosophy is that friendship and compatibility are both important factors in finding someone.

I really don't like phones, for some reason. I'd much rather talk either in email or face to face. Just a quirk, I guess.

ETA: omg I am so sorry about the lag in answering people! Classes are kicking my tail this semester. (Last semester? One big final project per class, not so lethal through the semester. This semester? I have papers due every week in one, programs and papers due every week in another, midterm papers, midterm tests, final papers, final tests, and oh yeah I get to program a game from scratch for my programming final.)

I thought 'hey, joining an online site would be an easier way to meet people than joining another organization.' It probably is! But I'm just so swamped that it's taking me way longer than I like to find time to log in here and reply. (Also much tougher than I'd anticipated to find time to, say, sleep.) I'm likely to be more communicative over the summer, but right now school is just eating me alive.

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
Movie theaters give me headaches between the noise and the flashing lights, so I'd rather meet up at a coffee shop (one with tea) or go to dinner at a fun restaurant. I'm also good with library meetups and the like. I love Asian food, but I have an odd level of spice tolerance - wasabi and kimchee are great, sriracha needs careful handling, not a fan of chiles or jalapenos.

What's your favorite cuisine / favorite restaurant? Favorite movie type?

(Just like I'm a wimp about hot chiles, I'm also a wimp about horror movies or blood and gore. Just can't handle it.)

Get the POF Mobile Apps