wear_galoshes: Sociable scientist... :o)
Non-Smoker with Athletic body type
Lausanne, Vaud
37 year old Male, 5' 8" (173cm), Non-religious
Caucasian, Leo
wear_galoshes is looking for a relationship.
PhD / Post Doctoral
Medical physics research

This is basically what I look like...

I am Seeking a Woman For Dating
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry View his chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Prefer Not To Say
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Brown Eye Color Blue
Do you have a car? No Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Over 1 year
Pets No Pets  

About Me
I grew up in the UK (Cornwall, to be more precise - lovely part of the world, should you get a chance to visit) and was living in Germany for 3 years, and have now moved to Lausanne.
It's my work doing scientific research that takes me to different places, and so far I'm very happy with the opportunities living abroad has given me to meet new people, try new things and enjoy the local scenery.
I really enjoy 'science' and trying to help other people to realise that the basic concepts are usually enough to be able to understand how complex and beautiful things work. Don't worry, I'm not an evangelist though, and will happily change the subject if your eyelids are starting to droop...!

Job-wise it's research based at the university. Evenings and weekends I like to do other stuff, though, which includes but is not limited to dancing (especially Argentinian Tango), hiking, cycling and ultimate frisbee.

I like to read, but rarely seem to find time nowadays to curl up with a book. A stand-out book recently was 'The Time-traveller's Wife'.

I enjoy watching most movies, as they tend to at least be entertaining even if they are not what I consider 'good'. Action films can be quite enjoyable but are just usually so predictable... I recently watched 'Hugo' on a plane and was really impressed with that one. Supposed to be more aimed at kids I think, but the story was original and captivating.

Music-wise I'm very flexible and enjoy listening to pretty much anything that isn't too extreme. At the moment I particular like The XX, Birdy, Mumford and Sons, Of Monsters and Men, but I'm also often listening to tango music to try to improve my knowledge of a vast genre which you don't really hear on the radio much.

Food. Hmmn, well, I don't like horse-radish, and I'm not keen on raw tomatoes, but pretty much anything else is fair game. I've tried to cut down on eating cheap meat - it doesn't taste good and you can never be sure where it's from - and I've been pleasantly surprised that being a half-veggie I don't miss the meat.
A couple of years ago I discovered an amazing chocolate brownie recipe which is fortunately also very easy. Being yummy and easy means that when it comes to baking I tend to go for that...