cugg1: This is a long profile.
Non-Smoker with Athletic body type
San luis obispo, California
37 year old Male, 5' 10" (178cm), Non-religious
Caucasian, Aries
cugg1 is looking for a relationship.
PhD / Post Doctoral

I am Seeking a Woman For Dating
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry View his chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Undecided/Open
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Blond(e) Eye Color Blue
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Over 6 years How ambitious are you? Ambitious
Pets No Pets Second Language French

About Me
I recently moved to San Luis Obispo from the East coast. I don't know many people yet!

I'm excited for the sun, the beach, the hiking, the surfing, the sunburns, the biking, and whatever else there is to do!

I'm Canadian. Did a PhD at Cornell, then a postdoc at Pitt, now teaching at CalPoly.

I've been jumping from thing I want to do to thing I want to do for a long time now, and it's worked really well for me. I've been exceptionally fortunate to have had the opportunities that I've been presented with!

I love experiencing new people/places/things/foods/etc.!!

I like to make people laugh. I like to be made to laugh. I have a comic up every few [PowerPoint] slides so that my students smile for the whole class. If they're just laughing AT me, that's perfectly least they're paying attention.

I like spontaneity. Midnight breakfast at a diner? I'm in. Last minute day trip? Yes please! Out of nowhere quiet night in with a movie? Maybe not so exciting...but I love that too.

I spend way, way, way too much time in coffee shops. To be fair, I'm usually doing school work.

I like to stay fit. I go to the gym often and exercise at least a little bit every day.

I like going out to live performances--music, theater, etc., they're all fun.

Before graduate school I spent a few years on a team managing IT security for the Caribbean operations of a bank.

Before that I did a BSc in physics, along with some philosophy, at the University of Toronto (where I grew up).

Before that I did other IT work.

I love photography--and am pretty good at it, if I do say so myself. I just started using Instagram: iansphonephotos

I've been lucky enough to spend time all around North America, and in South America, Europe, Asia, and Australia.

I love board games! Like Scrabble/Words With Friends? Settlers? Some other thing that you can teach me? Let's play!

I play guitar--I've played for a long time, but I'm not sure that it shows...

Favorite movie: Magnolia
Runners up: Moulin Rouge, Braveheart, Fight Club, Zoolander, Shrek, Good Will Hunting, Forrest Gump, Princess Bride, When Harry Met Sally

Favorite book: The Idiot
Runners up: Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Chaos: Making a New Science, "Eats, Shoots & Leaves", The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Sherlock Holmes (various), Grapes of Wrath, Harry Potter (yeah yeah)...I don't have the best taste in fiction.

Favorite food: Indian
Runners up: Thai, Mexican, greasy disgusting American

Favorite music: too hard to choose.
Some artists I've rated 4+ stars in iTunes:

Ani DiFranco, Mumford & Sons, Adele, Tom Waits, Chet Baker, BB King, Brandi Carlile, Eric Clapton, Muddy Waters, The Beatles, Tracy Chapman, Etta James, Nina Simone, Regina Spektor, Fugees, Jeff Buckley, Rufus Wainwright, Missy Higgins, Nirvana, Radiohead, Sarah McLachlan (old), Shania Twain (haha), John Prine, Arvo Part, Ben Harper, Carla Bruni, Coldplay, Dvorak, Ella Fitzgerald, Fiona Apple, Gwen Stefani, John Mayer, Joni Mitchell, K-OS, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Lauryn Hill, Led Zeppelin, Moby, Mozart, Norah Jones, Pearl Jam, Yo-yo Ma...

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
Write to me if: will watch "How Did This Get Made?" (the podcast, not that "How It's Made" tv show) Movies with me. want to introduce someone to SLO and the surrounding area. want to chat; you want a movie night; you want a walk; you want to go out for dinner; you want a coffee; you want some company; you want a challenging game of Scrabble or Words With Friends; etc.. are genuine, honest, loyal, and trustworthy.

You should probably just write to me. :)