Matthew_Quinn: Oh the things we could do!
Non-Smoker with Athletic body type
Berthoud, Colorado
34 year old Male, 6' 2" (188cm), Christian - other
Caucasian, Cancer
Matthew_Quinn wants to find someone to marry.
Bachelors Degree
Wild land fire fighter and youth crew leader

I am Seeking a Woman For Long Term
Needs Test View his relationship needs Chemistry View his chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Want children
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Brown Eye Color Green
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? Yes
Longest Relationship Under 1 year
Pets No Pets  

About Me
Hello and thanks for reading my profile! I should start out by saying that I have a two year old daughter and have been her sole caregiver since she was a baby. When she came into my life becoming a father was the last thing I expected, and I gave up a life of travel and adventure to care for her. While things have often been difficult, this decision amounts to a leap of faith into my most heartfelt dreams for love, children, community--and hopefully marriage and family--that kind of got lost along the way.

I mention this first because it not only establishes a pretty important dimension to any relationship I'd have, but because it shows that I'm a strong person who is also caring and compassionate and has a sense of duty. It also shows that I am earnest about being a good father and man, and that I'm a person who can be counted on. I was on top of the world, working on an elite fire crew and looking to get promoted, and I walked away. Few men I know would have done the same thing, and could have followed through to raise her so far as the happy, healthy, energetic little girl she is today.

Anyway, my story is that I devoted six years studying philosophy in college, and was blessed to do philosophy with many fellow travelers who challenged me beyond what I thought possible, and continued together for many years afterward. After college I worked as a sawyer on fire crews in the summer, while spending my winters studying and writing and the springtime living on small farms.

I love working hard, outside and with my hands. I've considered conventional employment, but concluded having to stare at a computer screen for most of my waking hours would kill me. Nothing's better to me than putting in a good days work and then kicking it by a campfire, whether its having a philosophic conversation or just eating and talking. In this, I'm pretty down to earth.

At the same time I'm an incurable intellectual, and the (literally) thousands of hours I've spent reading philosophy books inevitably enters into everything I do. I can't help it, and the only way I was able to cure myself of an incessant need to analyze everything was to take a step further into the religious dimension of existence. I've had a few really direct experience of where the limits of our overclocked monkey brain are reached, and there is the divine. This experience changed me, and its something that I want to share with everyone I meet.

The focus of all my efforts now, aside from caring for my daughter, is working to start a community. I spent a lot of time living on small farms, and since college I've been networking with some in my class who were fellow thinkers, and together we have substantial savings and a solid base of knowledge with which to buy a plot of land to live on together. My dream is to have a place where folks--from all over the world, perhaps--could come to work together and share in a conversation. This conversation would be the continuation of a lot of conversations that my friends and I would bring, as well as all the visitors who'd come by. It would range over all of human thought, from philosophy and religion to history, art, science, politics and cross into a thinking that thinks in and through the work. This would mean a different relation to each other, the animals, and the land than what has been tried in past forms of community.

I'm looking for a woman who would be able to treat my daughter as her own, and loves being around children. Someone who is strong and capable, and could share my dreaming of having a community. A woman who works hard and has goals, but isn't driven to succeed in the sense of success that is the "way of the world." A woman who is able to forgo comfort and ease and face hard times, even, if it means working alongside each other for what we think is right. Having to care for Maria has made me appreciate how amazing and important motherhood is, and I would hope to be with somebody who embraces this side of womanhood.