Age: 37
Long Term
Age: 44
winejosh: Moved to Mapa for wine, seeking adventures
Non-Smoker with Athletic body type
Napa, California
40 year old Male, 6' 2" (188cm), Non-religious
Caucasian, Capricorn
winejosh wants to date but nothing serious.
Bachelors Degree

Rock climbing in Maryland, with my new longer hair...

I am Seeking a Woman For Friends
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry Not Completed
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Want children
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Black Eye Color Brown
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Over 3 years How ambitious are you? Ambitious
Pets No Pets Second Language Spanish

About Me
I made a full career change, moved from the East Coast and left my job as a nerd in Information Technology to pursue a degree in Enology & Viticulture. Basically (for anyone ignoring the Walla Walla scene the past 10 years) that's being a nerd in how to make wine and how to grow grapes. IT stopped being a passion for me many years ago and I've been fighting this urge to do something different for three or four years. A cushy IT job is nice, affords me a lot of opportunities to do adventurous things, but was extremely un-fulfilling. I decided I'd rather make much less but be outside and enjoying my job. I finished school last summer and are currently the assistant winemaker at a small boutique winery.

I'm a tall, good humored guy who likes to do just about everything. I love the outdoors, enjoy camping, running, biking, extreme sports such as rock climbing, kayaking and skydiving. I also enjoy the simple things such as a good glass of wine (I have quite the collection at home), reading, going to a live show (music, play, etc..). And... yes, I actually do all of these things! I know a lot of people say they do this stuff and don't but I find just about everything to be really fun. I did Cycle Oregon in September, just did an Ironman at the end of July '10 so being active is a big thing for me. I've also been known to make snap decisions like run out and pick berries to make jam, cut down my own tree for Christmas and leave in the middle of the night for a random festival (see below!).

My date/adventure partner/cool counterpart -

Says yes to adventures of the random kind
You enjoy trying random foods or at least are willing to trust me that I'll make something you'll like
You have been known to stay up until sunrise just because
Catch grief from friends for doing what you do
Don't mind a guy throwing away a legit career for a passion
Have been known to do something irrational to everyone else yet legitimate to you

I'd like to meet a woman who is open to just about everything. Someone who enjoys being outside for part of the day and yet wants to catch a show or something else at night. I also enjoy people who love random adventures to anywhere (while living on the east coast....Groundhog Festival in Punxsutawney, PA. Beach Bum parade in Tybee Island, GA. I know there will be some good ones in OR/WA). Anyone who just enjoys life is a good start!

Side notes/Interesting facts:

Generally, my appearance is one where I'm clean-cut. But, I do have a few hidden away piercings. I wouldn't mind a tattoo or two, but I have yet to find something I want and I've been searching for 15 years. I've also been known to grow in a beard from time to time, depending on whether I'm planning some snow-bound adventure in the winter. I also managed to grow a beautiful 'stache for MOvember to raise money for cancer. (it is gone, thankfully) I guess I just like to keep people on their toes, but I'm always neat.

I love cooking. I hang meats to cure in my kitchen, attempt to make cheese from scratch, are working on wine vinegar (good option if I'm going into wine making), are using homemade "bitters" to make desserts and just about everything else under the sun.

I'm a wanderer (at times). So, by that I mean, send me on a mission somewhere, and I'll inevitably get caught up in something else. The grocery store for a simple ingredient can turn into a 2 hour long trip where I explore all the cool things they offer (and come home with a great new idea for dinner). A trip to the hardware store might find me discussing how to build a rain barrel.

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
I'd prefer most anything outside of dinner/drinks. I like to explore, be outside and check out anything new going on, so dates with different options are always at the top of my list.

Get the POF Mobile Apps