davidincharleston: Curiosity
About
Non-Smoker with Average body type
City
Mount pleasant, South Carolina
Details
69 year old Male, 6' 2" (188cm), Other
Ethnicity
Caucasian, Cancer
Intent
davidincharleston is looking for a relationship.
Education
Masters Degree
Personality
Free Thinker
Profession
Retired navy







I am Seeking a Woman For Long Term
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry Not Completed
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Prefer Not To Say
Marital Status Divorced Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Bald Eye Color Hazel
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? All my kids are over 18
Longest Relationship Over 10 years How ambitious are you? Somewhat Ambitious
Pets Dog  



About David
I grew up in Florence, SC, and escaped the prevailing intolerance after high school to go off to college and then the navy. Homeported and traveled all over the world on ships of different types, but finally came back to SC later in my career to command a Charleston homeported warship, taking command in the Persian Gulf during first Gulf War. During career I lived all over California and was stationed in New York City area several times and in New England several times, as well, usually Newport RI area. Spent last year of navy coordinating a new joint wargame with Russian and Royal navies, traveling a lot to Europe and then back and forth to Russia. Collected two masters degrees during navy career. Left navy after 23 years and returned to Charleston area where I soon headed a small harborfront state agency. Quit that job after ten years when the politics got so dirty it wasn't fun any more. Then tried my hand at financial services to do something independent and out of the media eye and found it was more sales than services and I was miserable.

Married once but separated and then divorced twelve years ago. Have three kids— 1) A 30 year old young woman who graduated from Furman eight years ago and has left Greenville to see if life in Portland Oregon, is a little more positive and tolerant than she found SC to be. Now works at the local state university there. 2) A 25 year old young woman who received her masters degree from grad school at Carolina, and has started her career as special education teacher in Columbia area and is passionately motivated to make the world a better place, volunteering for anything having to do with disabled kids and making frequent trips to Haiti to work at an orphanage for disabled, abandoned kids, recently named the state's special education rookie teacher of the year by their largest professional organization. And 3) a 23 year old young man who graduated from Carolina in Columbia and considering a career in law enforcement. I lived in Summerville area until my marriage breakup and now live alone in my man cave on the Mt Pleasant side of Ravenel bridge, within a block of the foot of it. I’m very close to my favorite beach, as well as Shem Creek, downtown Charleston and the market area. Still living the apartment life I had initially planned to live only briefly while I got my post-divorce feet on the ground, but discovered I don’t mind it at all and can’t beat the great location or the avoidance of moving again. I spend a lot of time in the Columbia-Lexington area where my two younger kids and my single younger brother who is raising an 8 year old boy by himself live. I usually stay with my brother in a lakeside neighborhood on the Lexington side of the Lake Murray dam called The Landing.

I enjoy playing and watching most sports and have become an NHL nut (Pittsburgh Penguins, thanks to my son). Also reading, biking, kayaking and camping, banana ice cream, cooking and eating most cuisines (except maybe pickles and animal guts), movies, travel, donner kebab, cherry cobbler, my kids, the beach, sushi, live concerts and theater, shrimp and grits, mountains, and raising my rescued puppy. I seem to not be the adventurer I once was. I do little to risk my life anymore, except maybe speeding, jaywalking and revealing to others in my regressive, intolerant, Fox News believing, gun toting home state the progressive and tolerant political and social views I acquired during my military career while viewing us from outside our borders during my world travels and living outside SC long enough to overcome the bubba right wing intolerant brainwashing to which we are all subjected when we grow up in this part of the country and which has seemingly spread to a deplorable part of our population nationwide. In a nutshell, if you support what Trump is doing to our nation, our planet and the future of our children, then you have a serious character disorder and are a huge part of the problems turning us into a third world country. I have no respect for someone like that and consider them to be anti patriotic.

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
First, a reminder, since age is rarely a factor with me (within reason). While I am not focusing on finding younger women, for whatever misguided reason, this site enforces a policy preventing males my age from making initial contact with anyone younger than their early 50s due to the age gap. I can only communicate with a woman in that age group if she contacts me first. As for "dating", I like to think that I don't "date" as it is traditionally defined. Instead, after communicating with a woman and gaining some confidence that we are compatible and that I am attracted to her and care about her and sense that she feels the same about me, I then want to start spending quality time with her. The traditional concept of dating seems too shallow and too impersonal to be something I want to do. I want to already feel that there is a chance for a relationship, and I don't think that could happen if she doesn't have a sense of humor, curiosity, tolerance, an open and progressive mind, strength, compassion, honesty and sensuality. And that's probably NOT going to be a woman who feels that she has to learn what is going on in the world from Fox News propaganda and proclaims herself to be a so-called "southern belle.". And I don't feel that there has to be some traditional timeline of how things progress but, instead, simply proceed in the growth of the relationship at a pace that seems natural and comfortable to both of us regardless of social mores and expectations.


Mail Settings
To send a message to davidincharleston you MUST meet the following criteria:
Female
Age Between:49 and 71.
You must have a picture to contact this user.



Get the POF Mobile Apps