SylvanCat: What's your story?
About
Non-Smoker with Average body type
City
Accokeek, Maryland
Details
51 year old Female, 5' 6" (168cm), Non-religious
Ethnicity
Caucasian, Virgo
Intent
SylvanCat is looking for a relationship.
Education
PhD / Post Doctoral
Personality
Treehugger
Profession
Editor/Writing Instructor


dating
August 2017






I am Seeking a Man For Dating
Needs Test View her relationship needs Chemistry View her chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Does not want children
Marital Status Divorced Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Brown Eye Color Brown
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? Yes
Longest Relationship Over 10 years How ambitious are you? Somewhat Ambitious
Pets Cat  



About Me
The basics: I'm a down-to-earth, woodsy girl, cat lover and fireside bookish, wine and foreign filmish, with the occasional need for travel and adventure. I love interesting conversations with people who challenge me.

The details: I like to find beauty in everything, whether it's a sunset, icicles hanging off the roof, homemade fudge that hardens at just the right time, an unexpected hug from a child, or a home project that comes out just right. I also like to put beauty into the world, such as I can. I like to make the house pretty for the holidays, praise a child when they've done something noteworthy, create a cool stained glass panel, or learn a new piece of music (or struggle to learn). I don't always get it right, but life is about learning, and I love to learn.

I am a study in contrasts. I test as an extrovert (Myers-Briggs ENFJ), but I appreciate my alone time. That's probably why I understand cats. :-). I am left dominant, but oddly, I do some things right-handed. I will weep during the Ode to Joy and whoop it up during a grand slam home run (given the right circumstances, I might even do those in reverse). I've been told I am equally right- and left-brained, having a logical, analytical, verbal side as well as being a creative, imaginative daydreamer. There's the girl next door, and there's the . . . well, let's just say there's an edginess there if you care to look for it. ;-)

------------------------

A few favorite quotes:

"Words are sacred. They deserve respect. If you get the right ones, in the right order, you can nudge the world a little."
-Tom Stoppard

"The moment you declare a set of ideas to be immune from criticism, satire, derision, or contempt, freedom of thought becomes impossible."
-Salman Rushdie

"Life's too short to be an a$$hole." -Louis C.K.

-------------------------

So, if you think you've got the right words in the right order, message me. :-) Before you do, I have a few likes and dislikes that might encourage or discourage you.

Likes: Men who are very smart and well-rounded, who are just as comfortable with Jane Austen as they are with World War II documentaries. Men who are active/athletic in some way; the geek/athlete has always been very appealing. Men who know at least something about (and perhaps even delve deeply into) wine, vinyl records, history, musical instruments, gaming, period costumes, science fiction/fantasy, medieval weaponry, and languages (ligatures such as the ampersand, and its development from the Latin 'et', are fascinating to me). Anyone who remembers Commander Salamander in Georgetown ;-). Animal lovers. Men who are in touch with and comfortable with themselves and all that entails. Kindness and empathy; that's a big one. So few people think about the feelings of others, especially total strangers.

Bonus points: You think stories about dystopian futures are cool. You think "Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead" is a brilliant play/film. You've seen Sleep No More.

Dislikes: Excessive tattooing. Boorishness. Excessive preoccupation with motorized vehicles and doing reckless things in them. Excessive anger after a sports team loss. Jingoism. Bragging about income (I really don't care. Be able to support yourself and, ideally, love what you do, and that's good enough for me). Homophobia (if you don't think gay marriage is the greatest thing since sliced bread, you will not be happy with me). Institutionalized religion -- I was raised a PK (Episcopal), but departed from that path long ago. I have long been attracted to Buddhism, though I wouldn't say I'm an expert by any means.

And a practicality: My ex and I have joint custody of our kids, which means I generally have every other weekend free. Some weeknights can be arranged, too, with some planning.

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
Something casual and low key where talking is possible. Coffee/tea or drinks, perhaps dinner.


Mail Settings
To send a message to SylvanCat you MUST meet the following criteria:
Male
Age Between:45 and 58.
Lives in United States
Lives within 75 You must have a picture to contact this user.



Get the POF Mobile Apps