1JazzKat: "Love looks not with the eyes but with the mind."
Non-Smoker with Average body type
Montreal, Quebec
38 year old Female, 5' 1" (155cm), Jewish
Caucasian, Gemini
1JazzKat is actively seeking a relationship.
Some college
Student of Psychology & Professional Pet Grooming

Leah & Tatianna enjoying the snow in the park (2006)

I am Seeking a Man For Friends
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry Not Completed
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Want children
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Blond(e) Eye Color Green
Do you have a car? No Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Over 4 years How ambitious are you? Ambitious
Pets No Pets Second Language French

About Me
Chic Geek seeking same. I'm a bit shy when meeting new folks, so I'm giving this another try... :-P

** I haven't updated this in a very long time...gave up on the whole online dating scene for a while.

Honesty and a sense of humour are what I highly value. I'm looking to date an intelligent, social, sensitive and trustworthy guy, who's not intimidated by a woman with beauty & brains. I have the heart of a poet and a scientific mind. I am searching for my INTELLECTUAL MATCH. I am well read; I enjoy analysing poetry & literature. I am especially fascinated by the HEALTH SCIENCES and have a strong interest in PSYCHOLOGY. I am a fan of cinema (esp. Sci-Fi), live theatre & music. I love animals & outdoor activities. My interests are quite varied, and I'm open to new experiences. It's no secret that I'm a BUFFY-fanatic, and I have a shameless addiction to PBS documentaries. (Hey, I'm a night owl; what else is on TV in the wee hours of the morning?)

Sometimes students spend too much time with their nose in a book, and not enough time gabbing with girl friends. LOL Sure, this ad was originally written as a dating profile, but I'm also looking for like-minded female friends (in their 20s, 30s) with common interests to hang out with in Montreal.

Read on to learn more about me in the last section...


I believe it's very important to be close FRIENDS FIRST before considering a romantic relationship –- let's see what chemistry develops... Mutual respect and open communication facilitate intimacy. A healthy relationship starts with two whole people. I believe in soul-mates, but I don't search for someone to "complete" me. Despite the challenges I've faced in life, I still consider myself an optimist and a hopeless romantic.

I am very sentimental & down-to-earth. I'm looking for someone who values the important things in life. Who has the ability to live in the moment, and never takes people for granted. I'm a good listener, but I can be quite talkative when you get to know me. It's best to express what you think & feel, so you can appreciate each other's unique perspective in life. I'm an open book with those I trust, and I hope you are too. I'm a self-confident, passionate woman, who cares deeply about family & friends. I strongly empathize with people, and try to be supportive in any way I can. Would be great if you'd remind me when not to take life too seriously, let loose, and HAVE FUN!!

NOTE:I am looking for a local, NON-SMOKING gentleman, within 5 years of my age. I would prefer dating a Jewish guy, but I'm open to friendship with people of various cultures. So if I've sparked your interest, post a pic in your profile before contacting me. Please consider my criteria; I stated them for a reason.

**Do you have PET ALLERGIES?
Take heed: I currently have no pets, but I hope to adopt one or more in the future. :)
(Wow, it's been quite a while since I've updated my profile...you make plans and god laughs!)

After graduating from college, life threw me a series of wicked curveballs, which diverted me from my desired career goal of becoming a Psychologist. Once again, I had to redefine my path. My fascination with the health sciences has long overshadowed my desire for creative thinking and artistic expression in my life. Creative writing has long been a good way of channeling my racing thoughts into something that gives me perspective. The need for an intellectually stimulating career can prove to be overwhelming on occasions when events in one's personal life get a little too "interesting." (Hence, the creative writing and the fascination with human behaviour.) LOL

Since an intuitive, empathetic nature is an asset in any helping profession, I have considered my other strengths and interests. Such as a natural ability with animals, and my extensive experience attending to the basic and medical needs of my pets into old age. I always felt the quality time I spent gently grooming my pets very calming; it was easy for them to trust me. My dogs would often fall asleep while I was brushing and dematting their coats after a good time in collecting burrs in the forest, or stalking squirrels in the park.

So, it seems that pet grooming is a natural fit for me. Best of all you get to be surrounded by lots of nice big dog all day long (their licks make up for the nervous little yappers who attack everything...even the dryer...especially the noisy dryer! LOL). Still, I have yet to be bitten while grooming. *crossing fingers*

Finding a professional dog grooming course - taught 'en anglais' - has been quite a challenge in Quebec. While i'm a Montrealer - born and raised - I've never become fluent enough to communicate in a French-immersion environment. Oui, je comprends plus de francais que je peux parle'
I've had to pursue my studies of professional pet grooming mostly with book-learning (and thank-god for YouTube!). I've recently been gaining more hands-on experience with volunteer summer internships with Master Groomers at boarding kennels in the USA. I've been working my way up from a professional Brusher/Bather position (grooming some dogs - start to finish...). I also gave medicated & flea baths to dogs both young & old (and helped wash one seriously pissed off, flea-bitten, cat). My solo work was good enough for the kennel to charge full price, and the "pet parents" seemed pleased. :)

There's just so much more to learn... I'm still learning clipping and scissoring techniques, and I hope to acquire more advanced skills of an Assistant Groomer. I'm looking for a longer apprenticeship with a local Montreal groomer to offer my skills/labour for training to learn more breed-specific grooming and "puppy clips." So, if you know (or happen to be) an established Master Pet Groomer looking for a Brusher/Bather or Groomer's Assistant, who is willing and capable of training a motivated Anglophone pet grooming student... Si vous plait... help me out by passing along the groomer's contact info, pertinant information, and where the kennel/grooming salon/business is located in Montreal.

note: I also am willing to volunteer for non-profit shelters on the island of Montreal, if you provide the shampoo, towels, and facilities. (I have my own clippers, shears, tools, but I'd rather not bring my HV dryer if you've got one there.)

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
What I'd like to do:
Chat over coffee & stroll through a park depending on the weather...
If we're both interested we can have a bite to eat and hang out downtown.

I'm a bit shy with people I've just met. Must be FRIENDS FIRST before considering a romantic relationship. If we hit it off as friends, but the romantic chemistry isn't there, I still value my platonic friendships. Let's start off as chat-friends, and go from there.

Whoah...TMI. Do you mean this isn't my facebook profile? Gotta edit this profile...when I have more time to waste. LOL
I really dislike writing these things, anyhoo...

If you've read this far...my name's LEAH. I hope to make more 2-legged and 4-legged friends in the New Year!

Mail Settings
To send a message to 1JazzKat you MUST meet the following criteria:
Age Between:23 and 38.
Lives in Canada
Must not have messaged users looking for intimate encounters or sex.
You must have a picture to contact this user.
Must not do drugs
Must not be married
Must not smoke