awal1983: And this is me...I believe
About
Non-Smoker with Average body type
City
Roanoke, Virginia
Details
34 year old Male, 6' 1" (185cm), Non-religious
Ethnicity
Caucasian, Pisces
Intent
awal1983 is looking for a relationship.
Education
Bachelors Degree
Personality
Humanist
Profession
Graduate Student


dating
1/16/2013. Just me, ready for whatever weather is thrown at me






I am Seeking a Woman For Dating
Needs Test View his relationship needs Chemistry View his chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Undecided/Open
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Brown Eye Color Green
Do you have a car? Prefer Not To Say Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Under 1 year
Pets Dog Second Language English



About Me
Hello,

Welcome to my profile. Thanks for taking the time to check me out.

Alright, to start off...

I will describe myself as a funny, nice, intelligent fellow currently residing in Roanoke, Va. Actually Roanoke has been my home for the bulk of my life. Outside and inside of Roanoke, I've been a student from various locations. I received my B.S. in psychology from Virginia Tech in 2006 (Go Hokies!), and right now I am working on obtaining a Master's degree in the area of teaching science from MBC. Over the past few years I've been a counselor/clinician for youth, a researcher of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in children, a supervisor at a university library, an artist, a bus driver, and a laborer at Wal-Mart (lousy job). I haven't been job jumping, just following my education, and doubling up from time to time.

As far as a personality goes, I think I am pretty unique. I am honestly horribly shy when it comes to dating and relationships, but in class and in life I am more of a leader, and have a lot of confidence when it comes to speaking up/public speaking, being the first to do something thrillfully exciting (like skydiving, or other fun things (sometimes called crazy things. (and I know "thrillfully" is not a word))), or just making a fool out of myself (karaoke, dancing, and things like that). But yeah, still totally socially awkward when it comes to romance. I do like to think of myself as a bit of a romantic though. Other personality traits, I feel I have a good sense of humor, I am honest, respectful, supportive, cheerful, friendly, patient, and genuine.
And a random note, just to get it out of the way, I am technically disabled. I've had a few health problems over the years, and amongst the issues I have faced, I've neuro-muscular cramping syndrome just causes my muscles (primarily my leg muscles) to spasm causing continuous cramping. The issue makes my legs a little less reliable than I would want so I use a cane just for balance, and support when standing for long periods of time. It is a bit of a stigma to have a cane at such a young age, and I like people to know that so they can make the choice for themselves.
As for interest and hobbies, I feel I have a lot and they are continuously spreading. I love art, music, and movies/television. I play a number of musical instruments. I always enjoy karaoke. I enjoy the outdoors and camping. I also love the water, whether boating, swimming, or just sitting at the edge of the beach. I have a great love of animals, I find them fascinating. To be honest, I enjoy video games from time to time. I enjoy dancing, although I can't dance like I used to. I think board games and party games are great. I love small social gatherings, and events. I love seeing live music. I like to build things, and repair things, simply for fun. I recently took up wood burning, it has been fun. I have a dog and I love spending time with her. I really enjoy cooking too, whether on the grill, open-fire, stove-top, or in the oven. I also enjoy science, psychology, and math. I am socially quite liberal, and just generally liberal in person. I don't like politics but I do care about politics.
And now for just some more negative points about me, just for the record. I am in school, so in order to accumulate less debt from my student loans and any medical bills, I've unfortunately have had to make the calculated decision to move in with my father, and to temporary forego having my own car, but I am currently sharing a car with my father. He has Parkinson's Disease, so it has works out at the time, I can help him, while cutting back on my expenses. This is just until I am finished with school and find employment. Fortunately looking to find work as a male science and/or math teacher in the area won't be that hard, especially with a Master's Degree and a background in mental health and counseling.
In other words I'm complicated, it is complicated. But a burden, I am not.

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
Since this is online dating, I think the first date should just be a meet and greet where we gather over drinks (coffee, soda, alcohol) or dinner, just to introduce our real selves. I like the idea because I think it is the safe smart way to start it off. And the hope for the first meeting/date would be just for us to gauge our chemistry or potential chemistry.

Now the second date should be more like an "official first date," where we know who we are meeting and can choose an evening plan that suits us, and our interest. I always like to start by treating you out to dinner, then we could talk about possibly seeing a movie, heading downtown for drinks or a live concert (like at Blue 5 or Martin's), maybe just grabbing some after dinner desserts (ice cream, smoothies, milkshakes, or frozen yogurt), maybe taking a walk (depending on location), or maybe was can just stay at the restaurants and continue talking until they kick us out. I'd also be game for bowling, putt-putt, karaoke, pool, darts, or going to the art museum. Either way, we can choose how to spend the evening, hopefully making it fun and memorable for both of us.



Mail Settings
To send a message to awal1983 you MUST meet the following criteria:
Female
Age Between:21 and 36.
Lives within 75 Must not have messaged users looking for intimate encounters or sex.



Get the POF Mobile Apps