wtungsten: Cheerfully cynical
Non-Smoker with Big & Tall/BBW body type
Rock hill, South Carolina
44 year old Male, 5' 9" (175cm), Non-religious
Caucasian, Taurus
wtungsten wants to date but nothing serious.
Some college

Found Hulkie in a convenience store bin. Now he rides with me.

I am Seeking a Woman For Dating
Needs Test View his relationship needs Chemistry View his chemistry results
Do you drink? Often (>3times/week) Do you want children? Want children
Marital Status Divorced Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Brown Eye Color Green
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Over 10 years How ambitious are you? Somewhat Ambitious
Pets Cat  

About Randall
Miscellaneous facts about Randall follow. All these statements are true, but some may have been phrased for effect or humor. :)

I first created this profile in 2008, either when I was living in Alexandria, VA, or after I'd moved to near Gaithersburg, MD. Then I ignored it for six years.

I'd like to live on a boat, and I'd like to sail around the world. Both of those involve mostly lower latitudes and higher temperatures than Virginia, though.

I have a boat, which I'm trying to get rid of. It's a Catalina 30, and I lived on it in the summer and fall of 2011. Turned out, it gets cold. Imagine! The boat is in a marina between two and three hours drive from my home just north of Richmond, VA. So, that's partly the reason I'm trying to push it off on someone. Want a crummy boat? Update: boat sold! Yay!

I lived in the Caribbean (Dominica, not the DR) for a while, in 2001.

My life since 2000 has been defined by saving up for trying to start a business, starting a business, failing either shortly or at length, and starting the cycle over. I'm in the pre-failing period RIGHT NOW. This time for sure!

I married in 1998 and divorced just about ten years later in 2008. We'd separated for about six months before that. Since then I've been in only one exclusive relationship, which lasted a little over two years.

I like playing role-playing games somewhat, and like GMing role-playing games more. A friend of mine and I are currently worldbuilding a campaign setting for D&D 5.

I play World of Warcraft from time to time, usually keeping my subscription active for a few months, noticing I haven't played in weeks, and cancelling it for a few months. Rinse, repeat. I am a casual player, and am uninterested in end-game content, for the most part.

I spend rather a lot of time on aggregators and bloggy sites like reddit, hacker news (for the startup / programming community, not breaking and computering), io9, slatestarcodex, and lesswrong.

I'm known as randallsquared most places, if you want to spend a lot of time reading things I said. Then you'll have the advantage of me on our first date! Strategy.

I like different sorts of music at different times, as many do, I suppose. I listen to a fair amount of electronic dance, some rap, some mid-century pop, some eighties. I mostly don't like mid-nineties music, and that's put me at musical loggerheads with just about everyone I've ever dated. Given that, I don't place a lot of importance on syncing up, musically. If you can't appreciate Jonathan Coulton at all, though, we may have a problem.

My tastes in written fiction and movies run largely to science fiction (Guardians of the Galaxy, Steven Gould and Patrick Lee, recently), with a side order of thrillers (Jack Reacher, Repairman Jack). My TV watching spans a larger range, though, including recently stuff like House of Cards and OITNB, Archer, Rick and Morty, The Americans, and a bunch more).

In February, I started a new job in the Charlotte area. Yay, new job!

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
A first date is mostly getting to know someone, so my first dates are pretty conventional: dinner and drinks, for example. I'm interested to hear your totally crazy idea, though.

Get the POF Mobile Apps