gerrymac: Must love tarantulas
Non-Smoker with Average body type
Fredericton, New Brunswick
55 year old Male, 6' 1" (185cm), Non-religious
Caucasian, Capricorn
gerrymac is looking for a relationship.
Some college

User has private images

I am Seeking a Woman For Friends
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry Not Completed
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Undecided/Open
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Hair Color Blond(e) Eye Color Other
Do you have a car? Prefer Not To Say Do you have children? Yes
Longest Relationship Over 5 years
Pets No Pets  

About Me
About Me....
Curious, intelligent, thoughtful, engaged, provocative, reflective (I'm apparently an INTP on the personality quiz here....which seems pretty correct). I'm a university educated (and for that matter, employed....altho where I work has changed recently) professional. My job requires some travel (I'm away 3 or 4 times a year normally for a week or two at a time) & sometimes weird work schedules. I'm both intense (when the work is stacked up) and easygoing (helllooo farmer's market), prefer cooking over fast food (or "fast at home" food) and have turned cooking into a bit of a hobby...I'd rather make egg rolls from scratch than buy them. I read lots, think lots, and am happy arguing out ideas (in fact, that's how I develop my understanding of issues) in a non-personal way (like, I don't profoundly care if your opinion differs from mine on most issues.....altho' I generally don't date conservative/right wingers, smokers (um, never), drug users (casual or never), or those of strong religious *some* things do matter around those topics). I quite like kids and dogs and I enjoy various things like camping (which I rarely get to do any more), hiking, going to movies, etc. I often enjoy doing active things (when my schedule permits)...although I'm truly rotten at most sports things (thank gawd my sense of self & my masculinity isn't tied up in "winning" at sports).

Who am I looking for??

intelligent, thoughtful, fun-loving, reasonably outgoing, reasonably stable, curious, a reader, reflective

Often my "type" tends towards left-leaning, creative thinkers (with artsy aspirations at least) with a social conscience. Although I have generally dated academic sorts, that's not always been the case as "brights" are developed in all sorts of lifestyles (a couple of my cousins are brighter than heck.....although they, as the rest of my family, are quite comfortably blue-collar). However, generally people who "click" with me read something other than (or at least in addition to) "People" magazine, pay attention to current events, prefer cooking over fast food, enjoy browsing in bookstores, are open to travelling, like kids (not that I necessarily want more....altho' I'm starting to think I do (mine lives very far away and is only 4....his mom is *very* much into "doing it on her own"), but it's a good indicator of personality...and in the future he *might* end up with me), enjoys live music, occasional fine dining, laying in reading the paper on Sunday morning (since Saturday is market day), is willing to try new things (like, snorkling in the Bahamas if you haven't done that before), is located somewhere between activity nutbar and sofa sloth (altho' I'll happily watch a marathon runner do her thing), would rather play for fun than win, can deal with discomfort in life when it arises, faces uncertainty with reasonable equanimity, is comfortable with initiating things (as opposed to always expecting someone else to), can both give and receive romance and consideration with grace, and is someone who appreciates a good (or not) glass of red wine .... well, that's a start anyways.

If any of this sounds compelling to you, then write if you get the chance....

p.s. I should mention that I don't get involved with people who are smokers....apart from any other concerns, I'm allergic to cigarette smoke so I find it's best to not be involved with someone who smokes (reformed smokers are not an issue tho'). I am, BTW, *completely* amazed how many women here on the east coast smoke...way way way more than anywhere else I've lived. And, "only when I'm out drinking with the girls a few times a year" is "occasionally" (AND clearly a choice and not an addiction), not "non-smoking". Apply the concept of "non-smoker" meaning "only when I'm out with the girls" to someone saying that they are not into wife-beating, heroin use, child molestation, sex with animals etc. and maybe you'll get my point. Sheesh. Never thought I'd have to explain it like that, but apparently it's necessary because I keep running into it here on the East coast and it's better to be clear about the whole issue. I quite like animals, but am allergic to most (but not all) cats....not an issue if I'm just visiting, but I can't live with 'em. Dogs are usually okay tho'....I like pooches quite a lot. Also, as boring and square as it might seem , I don't get involved with people who "do" drugs....and by "do" I mean currently use even occasionally ANY form of illegal drug. I'm lots of fun in other ways though .

p.p.s. I'm kidding about the Tarantulas. I just got tired of reading profiles that go on and on about how I must love cats.

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
Idea list: Pick something from my interest list, or yours. Or go-karting somewhere in town. Or mini-golf. Or even just coffee. [Note: if you pick dwarf-tossing we'll have to go to Australia....that's where I read about it happening I seem to recall]