JL1973: 3rd shifter wanting to get out.
About
Non-Smoker with Average body type
City
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Details
44 year old Male, 5' 7" (170cm), Non-religious
Ethnicity
Mixed Race, Aquarius
Intent
JL1973 wants to date but nothing serious.
Education
Some college
Personality
Profession
overnight stocking







I am Seeking a Woman For Hang Out
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry View his chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Undecided/Open
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? Often
Hair Color Brown Eye Color Other
Do you have a car? Prefer Not To Say Do you have children? No
Longest Relationship Over 1 year
Pets No Pets  



About Me
I'm a mixed race* (I hate this term, but whatever) Filipino/English-Irish-German) male in his late 30s living in my hometown of Albuquerque. I've lived in Phoenix/Tempe/Scottsdale, Arizona for the past ten years or so and came back with nothing much to show for it except a ten more years of experience navigating life and the cherished friendships and warm and easygoing company of many wonderful fellow travelers in life. Now, I'm in a steady job not making much in the middle of the night and need to find ways to engage with other decent and intelligent human beings on my time off...which is damned hard to do in the middle of the night.

I think I'm pretty smart, but know that I'm not *that* smart. I think I have a drier,darker, dirtier sense of humor than most appreciate, but I have my moments of contributing to the laughter of a friendly group. I try as much as possible to be honest and caring as I can despite my penchant for shying away from a lot of spontaneous social interaction with strangers, but if and when I get to know you, I see myself as a very dependable friend who values honesty and the courage it takes to speak bluntly and openly about oneself. As someone who has spent most of my life trying to not 'grow up' and join the drive toward material wealth, I've still come to experience and learn that life is fragile but needs risk to its relative safety and comfort level to fully experience. This is just me trying to grow up a little, test my world view with and perhaps against someone else's so that we might find something meaningful to hold on to here in this lonely high desert.

I love reading, but it's usually of the oft-depressing non-fiction type (ABQ Journal, AP feeds/internet news). The combination of my currently limited amount of free time and shortness of attention span isn't well-suited to reading so much stuff that I know I'd love. Gotta get myself an e-reader or modern cell phone, I guess. When I did read my share of fiction, I was into horror-thriller stuff (King, Coontz).

Movies, who doesn't love 'em? I pretty much love them all, too. My taste ranges from Pixar and Disney to 'so good, they're bad' B-movies, grindhouse/exploitation flicks, and older-style films, especially darker, artistically-heavy thrillers, like those in the murder mystery subgenre, the Italian Giallo (Argento, Bava, Martino) of the 70s and 80s. Well-presented documentaries featuring various social issues, and archeology/paleontology-related subjects top my list.

Video games, yeah, I play them somewhat regularly (got an XBOX) but it's uninteresting and boring alone most of the time. Prefer co-operative play that values more than just blowing sh*tup. Sorta bored by the lack of more abstract and stimulating exercises in games, these days, though.

Music is easy for me since I love all of it save for Country -- not a fan of the twang, I have to say. Love most of the old stuff that hasn't felt completely worn out by radio stations and commercial licensing. Dig older Blues and Jazz (Monk, Davis, Coltrane). I grew up in the 80s listening to all that classic pop, RnB, hip hop, rock, and alternative without really siding with one more than the other...until the 90s when I found that I preferred the sounds of Trip Hop (Portishead, DJ Shadow, Sneaker Pimps, Massive Attack) and a lot of European rock and pop (Radiohead, Bjork). In the last ten years or so, I've gotten into more folksy/indie-pop (Deathcab for Cutie, The Shins, Beck, Santogold, Cat Power, Feist) and some neo-retro pop-rock (Ladyhawke, Goldfrapp, Cut Copy).

Goal number one, right now, is to save up enough to go back to school inside of a year and get out of the lowest reaches of the income scale just so that I won't have to think about money or all the bullsh*tthat comes with it nearly as much.

Goal number two is to try and find a deeper shared happiness and contentment with my life without precluding the first goal's success. I don't long for wealth, but I need enough freedom that it provides from the machine to find more meaningful contentment in my life, even if only from day to day.

Conversation Starters (i.e. what you'd like to do on a first date...)
Anything where I can hear you, see you, and talk to you in a comfortable, casual place. My idea is a Thursday night meetup at a Denny's for coffee and a little grub or maybe a late, end-of-week day trip to a museum, park, or the zoo. Something different to do and someone to talk about it with sounds good to me. I like to walk and hike and would love to do some of that, too.





Get the POF Mobile Apps