furnituredesigner: Every day is a winding road
About
Non-smoker with A Few Extra Pounds
City
Grandview, Ohio
Details
57 year old Man, 6' 1" (185cm), Non-Religious
Ethnicity
Caucasian Capricorn with Brown hair
Intent
furnituredesigner Wants a relationship
Education
Bachelors degree
Personality
Artsy
Profession
commercial construction


dating
July 4th, 2013






I am Seeking a Woman For Long term
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry Not Completed
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? No
Marital Status Divorced Do you do drugs? No
Pets No Pets Eye Color Blue
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? My children are over 18
Longest Relationship Over 10 years How ambitious are you? Ambitious



About Me
I'm looking for someone to have dinner with, see a movie, visit art galleries or watch a live band . . . a friend to date and have some fun with and see if it could develop into a long-term relationship. Honestly, I'd love to get married again someday. Not today or tomorrow, but someday. I'm looking for a relationship. I'm new to this whole Internet dating thing (Plenty of Fish is my first time) and believe we could all use more friends in this crazy, mixed-up world. I'm not hung up on age or looks, but I am attracted to attitude and spirit. I like positive, passionate, optimistic, enthusiastic women who are fully engaged in life and can carry on great conversations. I steer clear of negative and hostile people . . . both men and women. I really don't need that kind of energy in my life. UPDATE: I'm not sure if it was a glitch in the POF system (I'm told it happens) or a typo on my part when I filled this out, but I am 64, not 57, and POF won't let me change it.

I'm also pretty creative . . . I'm a musician as a hobby (played on several albums and currently in a band) and I play drums, percussion, electric bass and string bass. I have a degree in architecture and I design and build custom contemporary furniture as a hobby in addition to my "day" job (I'm intending to launch this as a small "side" business next year). I'm fairly new to the Columbus area, having moved here seven years ago from the Warren/Youngstown area to be closer to my children. I owned a construction related business in Youngstown, but now work behind a desk in the commercial construction field. The money is decent, but it's not challenging or stimulating enough for me, so the dream of my custom one-of-a-kind furniture business lives on.

I'm a confident, fearless and positive man, easy to get along with and I'm told I'm open, articulate, passionate, romantic, witty, very affectionate and sensual, compassionate, kind, funny, loyal, intelligent, tolerant and grounded. I'm also a Marine and extremely patriotic . . . I still get choked up when I hear our National Anthem played before a football game and I still believe in the whole Duty, Honor, Country thing. My kids are grown (a son and daughter) and while I have accomplished many wonderful things in my life thus far, becoming a father has been the best thing that ever happened to me. I've been an Ohio State football fan since I saw my first game at five years old and there's no place on Earth like The Horseshoe on a Saturday afternoon! I own a pistol for personal protection (and have a CHL) but I don't kill Bambi or any of his relatives. I don't own a Harley or watch NASCAR either.

Like many guys my age, I've managed to pack on a few pounds in the last few years (I'm not obese and pretty muscular, actually), but I'm still a Big Tuna . . . 6'-1" and 270 . . . so, if you're looking for 5 percent body fat and six pack abs, please keep scrolling through the profiles . . . and good luck with that! I belong to a gym and I'm working hard to get back to where I was. I enjoy exercising, especially lifting weights. I messed up my left knee in a sky diving accident a few years ago (combined with the damage of high school and college football), and it's never really been right even after the surgery. If you're looking for a tennis partner, I'm probably not the guy for you right now, but getting my knee replaced is on my radar screen. I used to race four-wheelers and desert sport trucks (Baja 1000) and still have a lust for excitement and adventure. Although it's been a few years since I last flew a helicopter, I still have a passion for that as well. I enjoy white wine, fresh flowers (especially purple tulips) and great smelling candles - patchouli is my favorite, it's extremely sensual.

My life is much simpler and more peaceful than it used to be and I'd like to keep it that way. I no longer drive a Porsche (too many haters and the insurance was crazy because it was a convertible), the Rolex is on the bottom of the Sea of Cortez (an expensive oops!) and I've chubbed-up too much to fit in the Armani (those Italians make everything too small). There was a time in my life when I felt I "had" to have expensive toys and fancy clothes. I'm way past that now. I still like nice things, but I wish I had the money in the bank that I spent on all that "stuff". I drive a MINI Cooper S now and my dress code is much more relaxed and casual. Some of my friends tell me I'm a "California Guy" trapped in Ohio, because no matter what the weather is outside, the sun is always shining figuratively inside my head. An old man once told me years ago "Every day above ground is a good day" . . . I absolutely believe that! I can't imagine living my life without passion and a desire to learn and experience new things.

I'm a former elected official and I'm active in state and national politics, currently gearing up for the 2014 and 2016 election cycles. I am not politically correct. My daughter is a Liberal Feminist, my son is a Conservative Republican and I have friends of every stripe in between. That's the beauty of America, we all have free choice. I still open car doors for women and I'm not lonely, needy or clingy. I can cook, clean and do my own laundry. I have brown hair, blue eyes and dimples. I'm also a great kisser if that matters to you . . . it matters to me (that sound you just heard was me patting myself on the back - LOL).

I feel like I'm becoming more spiritual as I'm getting older and really want to avoid drama whenever possible. If you're walking around with a big 'ol "V" on your forehead (as in, I'm a "victim") we won't be compatible. Negativity and a "doom & gloom" attitude is a real turn-off for me. I enjoy reading (two of my favorite books are "The Four Agreements" and "The Mastery of Love" by Don Miguel Ruiz). I attend an on-going series of personal growth and development seminars in Northern California and love spending time in Big Sur getting my batteries recharged by some of that very cool California energy. My favorite charity is the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and finding a cure for this disease is very important to me.

I haven't owned a television for fifteen years and don't miss it. My MacBook Pro and iPhone keep me connected and my Bose CD player keeps the music flowing . . . that's all I really need. I'm at peace with myself and in a very good place emotionally. I live in the moment. I am a different breed of cat.

One of my favorite Don Henley songs goes (I had breakfast with him in Vegas once, what a nice man) "I don't care what you do for a living, I don't care what kind of car you drive; all I want to know right now is what do you believe in, what it means to you to be alive; will you stand here in this fire with me?; are you ready for another life?". I'm ready. How about you?

First Date
Pretty simple . . . have dinner, coffee or a drink someplace quiet where we could talk, because you can only find out so much about a person via this computer. It's taken me awhile, but I've come to understand what's really important in life . . . and I "get it". Let's meet for a glass of Chardonnay some weekend night.


Mail Settings
To send a message to furnituredesigner you MUST meet the following criteria:
Female
Live in United States