sharky20123
Age: 56
Long term
Billobx: Bill D from Corolla, NC & Hilton Head, SC
About
Non-smoker with A Few Extra Pounds
City
Corolla, North Carolina
Details
74 year old Man, 5' 10" (178cm), Christian - other
Ethnicity
Caucasian Aquarius with Gray hair
Intent
Billobx Wants a relationship
Education
PhD / Post Doctoral
Personality
Beach Bum
Profession
Retired


dating
December, 2011






I am Seeking a Woman For Long term
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry Not Completed
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? No
Marital Status Widowed Do you do drugs? No
Pets No Pets Eye Color Blue
Do you have a car? Yes Do you have children? My children are over 18
Longest Relationship Over 10 years How ambitious are you? Somewhat Ambitious



About Me
I was raised on a small tobacco farm near upper Marlboro, MD., having been born in 1940 on the 6th of February at Sibley Memorial in Washington, D.C. It didn’t take too long for me to figure out that life as a tobacco farmer was darn hard work, so with the encouragement of a high school teacher, I enrolled at the University of Maryland in College Park – and never left higher education for the rest of my career. I have a bachelor’s and Master of Education degree from U. of Md. I then went to Indiana University In Bloomington where I received the Ed.D. degree in 1967. My concentration was higher education administration. I got married in 1965 to a woman who was also enrolled at IU.

My career was in an area now known as Student Affairs and includes many campus services such as housing, career center, counseling center, recreational sports, campus unions, freshman orientation, discipline, etc. My first position was at Texas Tech University in Lubbock where I continued for five years. I then transferred to Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, VA in1972 where I remained until I retired in July, 2002. My title was Dean of Student Affairs for the last 20 years at VCU.

About six months after her retirement, my wife was diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma – a type of blood cancer. For the next four years, we tried just about everything, including 15 months of a clinical trial at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, numerous combinations of chemo drugs, a stem cell transplant that almost killed her, and finally she died from complications of the disease on May 30, 2008. We would have been married 43 years in August.

So I was 74 in February, 2014. I’m in reasonably good shape for the shape I’m in. I could easily stand to drop 15-20 pounds since my eating habits are probably not the best. I do take meds in small doses for cholesterol and blood pressure, but both are well under control. I used to referee soccer and it damaged my left knee, so I did have a knee replacement on Dec. 16 2008. I’m doing very well, now walking and doing steps with no difficulty. Just had a good 3-year check-up.

While I live in a resort area that is busy during the summer season, there is only one other full-time resident in my small subdivision of 32 houses, so it is kind of desolate after the first of the year.

I believe in trying to make things happen, rather than waiting for whatever randomly comes my way. I’m interested in meeting someone with whom I can become friends and establish a relationship. I’m a pretty plain old shoe – my one neighbor recently called me a “gentle soul” and what you see is what you get. I try to be interesting, polite, talkative to a point, listen carefully, mix in humor when appropriate (and maybe a few times when not so). But at this stage, I don’t have anything to prove, no role to play, no façade to wear. I seek company and companionship – perhaps more if the circumstances are right for both, but I have no pre-conceived outcome in mind.

I eat most anything. I believe in going with the flow and being flexible to meet the situation. I like to share decision-making – I damn sure don’t know it all!

I live on the Outer Banks of NC in Corolla and spend the winters in Hilton Head in my condo in Shelter Cove. I'm trying to sell in NC but am not going to give it away, so nothing much happening right now.

I have one married son who lives in Hartford, CT and is a cardiologist. I have three grands now.

I don't subscribe to Favorites, so can't see it.

First Date
It really doesn't matter to me - whatever we mutually agree on. I would like sufficient time to be able to get to know you a little.


Gifts Received

Mail Settings
To send a message to Billobx you MUST meet the following criteria:
Female
Age between 61 and 74.
Live in United States